Starting a call
To initiate a call with a patient you simply need to click the “call now“ button which will then redirect you to a “Calling patient“ screen.
On starting a call you will be redirected to the call initiation screen. This will clearly display that the patient is being called and will ring for 45-60 seconds.
Your camera view is visible in the top right of the screen. This gives you the opportunity to ensure that the patient can clearly see you. This view is what the patient will see within the app.
Our research has shown that patients prefer that they can see the clinician during the call and that they are actively engaged when talking to them e.g. turning to the camera when asking questions about symptoms.
Once the patient has answered the call you will be presented with the active call screen. You will be able to see and hear the patient clearly.
If a patient does not answer the call you will be directed to the “Call failed“ screen. This page will provide you with 2 options; Postpone or Cancel the appointment.
You may wish to postpone an appointment if you think that the reason for the appointment is important and that you will have time to call them back again later in the session.
If you chose to postpone the appointment, the following things will happen:
The patient will be notified that the call has been postponed
You will be redirected to the appointments dashboard with the appointment being moved to the “Postponed“ list.
The appointment will be accessible to call again by clicking the “Call now“ button.
If a patient misses the call, you can cancel the appointment at your own discretion. Initiating the cancelation in ClinicianPack will move the appointment within the platform to the “Canceled“ list. This does not tell the clinical system (EMIS) that the patient didn’t attend, so you will need to set this manually.
When you have held the call with the patient and the appointment comes to an end you will be required to end the call. Once the call is ended you will automatically be redirected back to the appointments dashboard and the appointment will then be moved to the “Completed“ list.
What if the patient ends the call before you do?
At the end of the call, the patient will also be able to initiate the end of the call. In the scenario that they do this before you do then you will be redirected to the “Patient disconnected“ screen. You will be able to end the call from here by clicking the “Complete appointment“ button presented.
What if the patient disconnects during the call?
There are a number of scenarios where the patient may disconnect from the call - loss of internet connection, accidentally pressing the end call button or phone battery running out.
If this happens, you will be presented with the “Patient disconnected“ screen. From this screen, you will be able to either call the patient back or cancel the appointment. This decision will be at your discretion.